Home » Personal » Gardening » 2017 Garden Goals

2017 Garden Goals

My goal for my garden this year is to grow enough food in enough variety to make it almost unnecessary to shop for vegetables during the growing season.

This will be my ninth year messing about with the garden. To date, my method has been to grow whatever seems interesting to me and plant it wherever there’s room. I haven’t paid much attention to the growing needs of specific types of plants, or to the quality of my soil beyond adding bagged dirt and fertilizer now and then. Consequently, I’ve had varying degrees of luck with different plants, and even with the same plants. Some years there are too many tomatoes to handle, and other years there are barely enough for a bowl of salsa.

This year I’m actually going to plan.

My gardening wish list includes growing lights, warming coils or warming pads, and either a digital soil tester or a soil test kit.

Leave a Reply

