Home » Uncategorized » 2017 Reading Goals

2017 Reading Goals

It’s been awhile since I wrote anything, but I hope to post more consistently in the coming year.

My reading goal for 2017 is to read at least one nonfiction book and one fiction book each month. For January, my selections are “The Children’s Home” by Charles Lawrence for fiction and “The Gene” by Siddhartha Mukherjee for nonfiction.

Since earning my undergrad degree in literature, I’ve hardly read anything that could be classified as “literature.” Most of my fiction reading has fallen into the categories of horror, sci-fi, and (dare I say?) paranormal romance. While “The Children’s Home” is classified as horror, it’s described as literary horror, which is supposedly superior to other categories. I’m looking forward to “The Gene” because I loved Mukherjee’s 2010 work, “The Emperor of All Maladies.”

Happy New Year, and happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

