Home » Personal » Back, and finally finished with school (almost)

Back, and finally finished with school (almost)

I finished my ePortfolio, which I guess means that now I just have to wait for my degree to arrive in the mail. I won’t lie — it was a lot of work. I felt like all I was doing was regular work and school work since… well, since the last time I posted anything here. I still have a bit of school work to do before I’m all the way done. My “children’s literature” class isn’t over until the first week of May, and I still have one minor and two major projects to complete by then. I will be happy to be done with official school, but I don’t want to slack off. I want to keep reading professional literature and studying things on my own, for professional development, you know.

I bought an air rifle the other day. Z had got one for us to “share” the Christmas before last, but he keeps it in his room all the time and I don’t want to go in there and just take it, because I doubt he’d like that. I got it to shoot rats with. It’s extremely accurate (so far), but I don’t know if I will ever actually shoot a rat.

The rifle is a Gamo Whisper Silent Cat. It doesn’t seem any quieter than Z’s rifle, and most reviewers on Amazon said the silencer didn’t really do anything. For my purposes, the scope is fine, although many people complained about that as well. Besides mentions of those two features, however, the reviews were extremely positive, which led me to choose this rifle over another I was considering: the Daisy 880 Powerline Kit, which came with ammo and protective goggles. Starter kits like that make you feel like you’re getting more, but the quality of what you get is usually less than if you choose and buy each component separately. I chose the Silent Cat because it was touted as being very accurate and effective for small game hunting and pest control. I haven’t killed anything yet, and I probably never will, but if I do I’m pretty confident this rifle can do the job. It shoots .177 caliber pellets at between 1000 and 1250 feet per second.

Leave a Reply

